High School Student

I don’t know how old you are, but I’m in my final year of high school. There are about 3 months or so left of school, and then the HSC exams which will pretty much determine if I will or will not fail at life (in accordance to my academic life, anyway..) and after that, freedom.

It has been thirteen years. I barely remember a time that I wasn’t in school. Before primary school, I was in pre-school and before that, my long-term memory hadn’t begun to function yet so I don’t remember.

I am so over school.

I really can’t wait to be done with it all. I remember, once a upon a time, I used to like going to school everyday. Now I find it very difficult to get up in the morning until I remember about all the stuff I have to do, things I have to hand in, teachers I have to see, and stress that I have to keep suppressed. I realised that a lot of stress builds up after a while, especially in year12, and you don’t even realise it until you have a breakdown or something.

If you read my post about Wednesdays, you would know that it’s my busiest day. Last Wednesday, I could feel the stress. It was horrible, I wanted to cry. I had Physics and Math homework, an English assessment to hand in by the end of the day and of which I had forgotten about… Now that I think about it, it doesn’t sound like much. But at the time it was horrifying.

Anyway, as well as being academically stressed, being a high school student also tends to involve stupid, petty, dramatic fights and rediculous teacher-reactions.

There was a rap-battle at school a couple of weeks ago. I went to watch (it was a rap battle. I thought those things died in the 90s!) but I didn’t really care about it much, and I’m pretty sure no one else did either. It was just one of those odd things that happens at school once in a bluemoon.
Unfortunately, our deputy principal decided that it was ‘bullying’ and the entire year12 student population needed to be addressed and made to feel guilty for it. She also decided to give out afternoon detentions, I think…

It was a rap battle! Who cares!? A teacher was actually standing and ‘monitering’ it, and she didn’t even care.
If that was bullying, than iPods are a Samsung product.

I realised that my blog turned into something like a rant, that’s also a natural part of being a high school student. You tend to rant every now and again…

Oh and one more thing! I’m totally against bullying and you should be too. I wear a piece of string on my arm sometimes in support of The String Movement. Look it up.

High school is weird.

Leave a Reply

