Inspiration

So in my spare time, when it’s actually spare time and I legitimately don’t have anything else to do and I am as bored as I can get; I like to write stuff.

I’m writing a short story at the moment, it’s called The Annual Pen Pal Project. Or as I like to affectionately refer to it; TAPPP.

However, I’m a terrible writer and I rarely update the story. I write chapters less than monthly, i.e. once in a blue moon. Or after at least 3 moons have passed.

Usually it’s because I have ‘writers-block’ and I can’t come with a plot line, or I just really don’t want to write anything (‘ceebs’).

So how do you get inspiration?  How do you come up with something interesting and attention-grabbing on a regular basis?
I guess you just have to be one of those people who are talented and creative – both of which I am not, really.

Where do you get your inspiration from?

Oh! By the way if you would like to read my sucky book, you can read it on wattpad.com. Or if you are really lazy and would like the direct link, here: http://www.wattpad.com/story/1115438-the-annual-pen-pal-project

I’m not kidding, I don’t proof-read so you’ll find a number of irritating mistakes.

But back to inspiration, where do those wonderful writers like J.K Rowling and Paul Torday pull these story-lines and elegant language from?
Maybe it’s because they have ‘life-experience’, of which, I am lacking – only having lived a bit over 17 years.

To have inspiration, you need to have been inspired by something, right? So that means I should go out and get inspired.. To be inspired to write a book, the most obvious thing to do is to read other books. So that’s what I do. But I still don’t feel inspired…

Hmmm…

It’s a pretty word, isn’t it? Inspiration.

Leave a Reply

