Day to Day, sorry no, Clubbing.

Salutations,

I haven’t written a post lately because nothing extremely exciting has happened.

It’s just been day to day university life – so I chose to write about that.

So in the past three weeks I have gone out clubbing once, gotten drunk never, and just done normal things like shopping, eating fatty food, studying, and procrastinating.

I’ll tell you about my first clubbing experience.

At the start of the night (around 9pm) we (my housemates) started getting ready. Picking clothes was easy (for once in my life) but shoes took me a while to decide upon. Then I was wondering what to do with my ID and money and phone and things like that – because taking a bag to a club isn’t the best idea, apparently you’ll probably lose it. So I put my ID in my shoes and my cash and phone in my bra. Like a hooker. But no one had to know.

Tom, Lizzy, Bonnie and myself – (Mitch hates buses so his friend came to pick him up and meet us later on)

^I realise I never really introduced my housemate. Those are their names. I think I made up a post using pseudo names but I’ve given up. You don’t know their last names, she’ll be right.

– caught the bus into town and headed over to Finnegan’s. I won’t lie, I was pretty excited. It was like in the movies – well not quite but close enough. The city of Newcastle is pretty empty at night. It was about 11pm and the only people around were the young people and they were all heading to the one place – Finnegan’s. It was like a movie scene! Lots of youths – many slightly slut-ily dressed – walking with purpose towards the club.

I’ve never been asked for ID before, somewhere my subconscious knew I was going to be asked but it didn’t communicate with my brain very well so when I was asked by the big burly security man for my ID there was a bit of fumbling around (because it was in my shoes) before he got to verify my age. And then I got checked again because these days they scan your ID and take a photo of you so they know exactly who you are if you cause a nuisance in the club. And finally I got stamped and was allowed to enter.

In the club, it was okay. There were people, lots of strobe lights and coloured lights, and loud music etc. etc. Exactly what you would expect.

All you do in a club is drink and dance. Which is fun. But eventually I got a little bored. But then I realised that this was the place that I had wanted to visit for months so I tried to enjoy myself a little by dancing like an idiot and observing all the other people.

I got hit on – apparently. The guy was just trying to dance with me. Because I am a derp, I didn’t know what to do so I just continued bopping along with the music. The guy kept trying to make eye contact, but me being the awkward person that I am could not hold the eye contact so I inevitably ran away to the toilet without even saying goodbye. Facepalm. That was so rude!

As the night continued I continued dancing like a derp with my housemates until Bonnie got tired and we decided to head home.

Caught the bus home with Lizzy, Bonnie and Tom, while Mitch stayed out with his friends before coming home about 20mins after we got home.

Another thing about going clubbing, you come home smelling like you haven’t showered in days. Remember to religiously apply deodorant before you go – or keep a small supply on you for the night.

Or do that thing that we all do but don’t talk about. Go to the bathroom and put some water and soap on a napkin and wash your armpits.

I ate some mi goreng and had a hot chocolate at about 2am, then we tried to watch a movie but failed because we all started falling asleep. Went to bed sometime between 3 and 4am.

Clubbing is okay. But I think it would be more fun with friends that you are really close with and act like the stupidest, derpiest idiot in the world with.

Maybe it was because I wasn’t tipsy or drunk. I only had one drink – it was bloody expensive. Cost me $10 for a can of Canadian Club.

Unbelievable.

This post has turned into something about my first clubbing experience rather than day to day uni life. I’ll write another one later. Bye now!

One thought on “Day to Day, sorry no, Clubbing.

  1. I loved hearing about clubbing 😀 I’m not 18 for another two months yet and even though I’m not really a drinker or partier, I really really want to go clubbing just to see what it’s like. I feel like this comment needs more to it but I can’t think of anything else to add so bye! 🙂

Leave a Reply

