First Semester is Over!

Hallo!

I have successfully survived the first semester of first year university! It was challenging, fun, eye-opening, and a bit of a throw-into-the-deep-end, but it was so so good and I’m looking forward to next semester.

So a few things that went on that I didn’t mention along the way.

I made a solid group of girl friends (something I’ve wanted since year 9) who all live within a 10-minute walking distance radius of me. We can meet up and go for Thai food, go to university together, hang out whenever.. I love it! There is always someone to talk to about my ridiculous PMS teenage angst, or to chat to like a normal human being. It’s one of the best things about being a small course.

I met a boy. But we’re just friends. Because we live together. Hmm. Don’t really have a lot to say on this subject, so I’ll move on.

I’m pretty sure that I did quite well in most of my subjects! It was not the hell that everybody told me it was going to be. It was actually quite manageable, if I studied more regularly it would have been a breeze. However I stuck to my usual method of last minute cramming, which was very stressful but it wasn’t hell.

I love living away from home! Do what I want, when I want. Not responsible for anyone but myself, it’s awesome! And I argue with my mum a whole lot less.

Drugs are much more accessible than I thought. Though I’ve decided to never access them. Partially because I’m a health student and it has the potential to ruin my future career, and partially because they are illegal and socially unacceptable.

So those are 5 things that I didn’t mention before.

Another 5 things that I’ve learnt;

Don’t drink on a empty stomach, and when you do drink, cap it at 4-5 drinks if you’re a lightweight.

Take advantage of alllll the discounts. They actually do come in handy.

Eggs are the best thing ever, they go with almost anything.

A mac is not essential for uni, but I love mine even though it cost me a bomb. It’s fashionable but mainstream to have a mac. It’s a bit overrated.

Don’t go to shopping centres when you’re a student. The temptation is too much, especially if you’re a female who loves to spend money.

Okay well, that’s it for now.

University is as awesome as you make it. I haven’t attended any club meetings or anything, but university is still awesome.

2 thoughts on “First Semester is Over!

  1. Glad to see your first semester worked out well! Everything you said hits very close to home and I totally agree with you on it all – especially the mac thing (I love mine, but soooooo overrated). Good luck for the second semester! 😀

    • good luck to you too! i’m actually quite excited to get back into it haha
      the holidays are great, but simultaneously i like having stuff to do everyday

Leave a Reply

